Meet the CCCC Bloggers!

As you know, we’ll be live blogging CCCC this year. Check the CBW Blog for updates on sessions related to basic writing.

Here are our great CBW bloggers!

Karin Evans is Associate Professor of English at College of DuPage in Glen Ellyn, Illinois. Coming from a background in “adult ed” publishing in the 1980s (GED Writing Skills!), she has always been engaged in helping student writers cross into the messy worlds of writing academic, public, and personal prose. Karin eagerly sought to understand basic writers starting with her first introduction to the field of Composition & Rhetoric. This interest led to many seminar papers and finally a dissertation at Purdue. Her career track was jagged and uncertain until she found herself accepting her current job at COD, a community college, in 2003 and realized she was finally home where she belonged. Karin has a fledgling blog of her own at http://developingyoudevelopingme.wordpress.com/.

Marisa A. Klages has her PhD in English with an emphasis on medieval rhetoric and literature. Useful, right? She teaches basic writing, freshman composition, and British Literature classes at LaGuardia Community College in NYC where she is the Director of Outcomes Assessment. Marisa is also the Project Director for the Global Skills for College Completion Project which provides professional development to developmental educators.

Jeannie Waller

I hate talking about myself as if I am not really here, so I am doing first person.

I know I look startled, but the guy taking my picture was trying too hard to make me laugh.
I’m Jeannie Waller, and I am finishing my PhD in English with an emphasis in rhetoric/composition/literacy/and language at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. I am the director of the Walton College Writing Center at the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville and enjoy teaching business students, staff, and faculty strategies for improving their communication skills.

J. Elizabeth Clark

Hi folks! I’m your regular CBW blogger (she who brought you live blogging last year!) and current co-chair of CBW. I’ve been a passionate advocate for basic writing and its place in higher education since graduate school where I cut my teeth on teaching in intensive basic writing learning communities. Today, I am privileged to teach at LaGuardia Community College, CUNY where I am a professor of English. I teach basic writing, composition, creative writing, and the liberal arts capstone course. I write and research about the role of technology, social media, and digital rhetoric in higher education, particularly as it is shaping composition curriculums, pedagogy, and assessment. I have worked extensively with LaGuardia’s award winning ePortfolio program since 2002 and use ePortfolio as a signature pedagogy in my courses. I’m looking forward to blogging CCCC and extending the conversation about basic writing!

2 Comments

Filed under CBW 2012, CCCC 2012

2 responses to “Meet the CCCC Bloggers!

  1. VanessaVaile

    Nice to meet everyone and I look forward to following #4C12 on CBW (will that be your hashtag?)

Leave a Reply

