Meet the 2013 CCCC Bloggers!

Meet the folks who will be working hard to keep you informed about CCCC 2013! Our team will be live blogging, tweeting, and providing commentary on basic writing related sessions!

Sheri Rysdam

Hi all! My name is Sheri Rysdam and I am an Assistant Professor of Basic Composition at Utah Valley University. My research interests are everything related to teaching writing, as well as political economy, contingent labor issues, social class, and methods for responding to student writing.

Sara Webb-Sunderhaus

I’m Sara Webb-Sunderhaus, an assistant (hopefully soon-to-be associate!) professor of English at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW), where I coordinate the basic writing program and teach courses in writing, theories of writing, and folklore. My research broadly focuses on issues surrounding literacy, identity, and access; more specifically, I study the literacy practices and beliefs of Appalachians and the literacies and education of basic writers. My work has appeared in The Norton Book of Composition Studies, The Journal of Basic Writing, Community Literacy Journal, Open Words: Access and English Studies, and Reclaiming the Rural: Essays on Literacy, Rhetoric, and Pedagogy. With Kim Donehower, I am developing a new collection entitled Re-reading Appalachia: Literacies of Resistance.

Anthony Warnke

Anthony Warnke is in his first year as a tenure-track English instructor at Green River Community College in Auburn, Washington. Empowering basic writers drives his research interests. He is focused on developing curriculum that engages the literacies that basic writers already bring to the classroom, such as multimedia literacies; creating disciplinary-based basic writing courses; and addressing the needs of non-native English language learners. In his own basic writing pedagogy, he constantly struggles to balance higher-order critical-thinking and analytical skills with sentence-level and structural “correctness.”  Along with teaching basic writing, Anthony is a poet and teaches creative writing.

J. Elizabeth Clark

Hi folks! I’m your regular CBW blogger and current co-chair of CBW. I’ve been a passionate advocate for basic writing and its place in higher education since graduate school where I cut my teeth on teaching in intensive basic writing learning communities. Today, I am privileged to teach at LaGuardia Community College, CUNY where I am a professor of English. I teach basic writing, composition, creative writing, and the liberal arts capstone course. I write and research about the role of technology, social media, and digital rhetoric in higher education, particularly as it is shaping composition curriculums, pedagogy, and assessment. I have worked extensively with LaGuardia’s award winning ePortfolio program since 2002 and use ePortfolio as a signature pedagogy in my courses. I’m looking forward to blogging CCCC and extending the conversation about basic writing!

Leave a comment

Filed under CBW 2013, CCCC 2013, Social Media

Leave a Reply

