The INNY Award

The Council on Basic Writing’s Award for Innovation (The INNY) recognizes writing programs for innovations that improve educational processes for basic writers through creative approaches. Please note that only innovations that have been implemented are considered for the award.

CBW annually recognizes those college and university programs that are implementing new or unique ways to improve the success of their basic writing students.


Recipients of the Council on Basic Writing’s Award for Innovation are determined by a review committee. Awards are given to approaches that clearly benefit students at the winning institution, and that may be extended to other institutions.


· Originality – the creativity and uniqueness of the innovation
· Portability – the extent to which the innovation lends itself to application in other institutions or contexts
· Results and Benefits – specific details, data, and observations derived from the innovation, focusing on specific educational benefits to students


Each year, we post a call for applications on CBW-L, on our Facebook Group, and here on the blog. Is your program doing something especially useful and effective in terms of assessment, placement, pedagogy, curriculum, community outreach, etc.? If so, please nominate yourself for the annual CBW Award for Innovation.


The following will be considered a complete application packet. ALL application materials must be submitted in electronic form, and all applications will be acknowledged. Please send:

  1. A descriptive title of the innovation, along with the name, address, phone number, and email of the contact person.
  2. An explanation of how the course/program in which the innovation is centered includes students labeled “basic writers” by the institution and, if applicable, a brief (one paragraph maximum) explanation of how students are labeled as such.
  3. A complete description of the innovation including:

· justification of the creativity and uniqueness of the innovation compared to traditional methods
· evidence or examples of portability to other basic writing programs
· the measurements and monitoring used; results indicating a significant benefit in achievement in educational goals or outcomes

Please note that Innovation documentation is limited to five (5) pages or less (excess pages will not be read!); single spaced; 11 font or larger; graphs and charts are accepted as part of the page limitation.


Each year, the winner is invited to give a brief presentation about the winning program to the SIG attendees at CCCC.


2018: The University of Georgia: Christy Desmet, Kris Miller, & Kimberly Brown for curriculum development at the University of Georgia in helping introductory biology students learn to write for science.


2016: Boise State University: Heidi Estrem, Dawn Shepherd, & Karen Uehling for Boise State’s placement system.

%d bloggers like this: